Two sides of every story

Image

I see over Twitter a majority of the time quotes that encourage us to be ourselves, regardless of what others think, and in a perfect world, this would happen all the time and we wouldn’t need quotes telling us to do so.

This is one aspect of becoming an entrepreneur that I find to be one of the most attractive benefits: the opportunity to TRULY be yourself!  There is never just one side to a story, so when I would interview potential employees for past companies, I would get a list of all their attractive qualities and I would often ask them what they thought their areas of improvement, and most would give me a weakness tied into their work performance versus a weakness about their character/personality.

So putting myself in an investor’s shoes or those of a potential financial partner, I would DEFINITELY want to know EXACTLY who I am doing business with, good and bad aspects, I would want the whole story, not just the good and impressive parts.  

So I thought I would use this opportunity to do just that…..the good, the bad, and the sometimes ugly aspects of my personality, but…..at least it’s honest

 “Good”

  • Headstrong nature – Persistent
  • Courage to face fears and overcome them
  • Reliable and strong intuition
  • Enthusiastic
  • Energetic
  • Impeccable sense of style (big smile)
  • Creative
  • Inherently assertive
  • Good at making money (Past employer’s favorite trait)
  • Social butterfly

“Bad”

  • Stubborn
  • Impatient — This is my most predominant “negative” quality
  • Impulsive shopper (hence, exactly why I designed this company)
  • Spontaneous
  • Sensitive emotions, doesn’t matter which ones….they are all a bit on the sensitive side.
  • High importance on physical appearances – Some will see me as superficial
  • Strongly competitiveness that can become single-minded at times
  • Pushy (the negative side to “assertive”)
  • Gets bored easily
  • Difficult to give up and let go…this ties into the sensitive emotions and stubborn traits
  • Sarcastic sense of humor…..never malicious

OK!….so there you have it!   A lot of these traits can be taken “both ways” and that all depends on each of the personal perceptions of whom ever is reading this post.  Everyone will draw their own conclusions.  I just remind myself that I can’t be 100% me with only 50% of the puzzle.  It comes down to the simple choice of which traits we wish to represent ourselves as a whole, and those are the traits that will be put on display for others to judge, so choose wisely!

 

():-)

Leave a Reply

