My Addiction

ImageI was 14 years old, and who’s not surprised? I mean, with all the crap from what was going on at school, and the less-than-perfect home life.  I was a sitting duck, and searching for ways to escape from reality, and forget my problems. What started out innocently enough, quickly turned into an addiction that lasted for over a decade.

My addiction was night clubs.  If music was a religion a nightclub was my church, and I was a devout follower.

My love for dance in general attracted me, but it was the atmosphere, pounding bass from the Louie Devito remixes, and being surrounded by mobs of club enthusiasts; that kept me going back almost every…. single…. weekend.  Night clubs became my new home away from home, and my way to escape.

Club Excalibur was the first club I ever stepped foot in.  It was an underage club that catered to the under 18 crowd, but I didn’t let age deter me from sneaking into 21+ clubs by the time I was 16-17. It didn’t happen often, and I never pushed my luck by trying to score drinks.  I was there to dance!  I eventually made my way to Club Liquid once I was old enough to get in (17+) and it was the local hot spot for the younger club crowd. Getting in the “VIP” area (upstairs) was always the ultimate goal of the night.  You could only go up by invitation, therefore, you had to know someone or get someone’s attention.  This was why I always made it a priority to become friends with the security guards.  They hooked me up….a lot, and I was lucky to get to hang out with a few local music artists (Toya, Pretty Willie), producers, and lots of wanna-be groupies. Liquid was where I began to build a reputation from club kid to networker and promoter.

As soon as I hit 18, my obsession blew up!  I began hitting up as many night clubs as I could all over the St. Louis area.  Then, I took my addiction to San Diego, Chicago, and even Mexico.  At 19-20 years old, I began dancing with a group for a local St. Louis club as…I guess you could call us… “go go” dancers.  We’d choreograph routines and perform them for tips….good times.

I hit the peak of my freelance promoting when I moved back to Chicago in 2008.  I started promoting tattoo studios and artists, special events/parties, etc.  My phone would be toppling with text messages and voice mails for future events to hit up, and being this was my only source of income at the time, I rarely missed an opportunity.  I was always looking forward to that next gig because you never knew who you might run into too, or where a connection would lead, therefore, it was non-stop and exhausting.  My feet would be covered in blisters from spending 10 or more hours in heels, making countless rounds and striking up a conversation with as many people as I could before dawn approached.

I eventually ended up suppressing my nightlife addiction when I met my husband at a promotional gig I as working at Navy Pier, but even to this day and after all these years, I keep that club kid part of me alive and well, and more than likely, I will have the launch party for CTA….at a night club.

— FiN

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

